15 Games Rated and Reviewed

Switch
13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim
Reviewed: May 2, 2022
9.80

The Switch really is the perfect platform for visual novels. 13 Sentinels Aegis Rim is a surprisingly different take on the genre. It managed to juggle 13 different protagonists in a multi-layered science fiction story. Each character has its own set of mysteries to solve and answers to find. The game's visual novel section will piece together the events in a fragmented type of storytelling. It can get confusing most of the time, so I recommend having a notepad to keep track of multiple names.

Apart from its Visual Novel sections, 13 Sentinels Aegis Rim has actual combat. In between its point and click visual novel adventure, it's a mecha game. Like Into The Breach, or XCOM, battles require careful thinking, or brute force. Eliminate a legion of relentless Kaijus called 'Deimos' using. your 'Sentinel' to save the day. It's a simple premise, but the story gets even deeper after every incursion.

These two sections: the visual novel and the tactical gameplay, make up the core experience of Aegis Rim. Vanillaware somehow blended these mechanics into one seamless experience. It's a game that's best played blind, so be careful when you're searching around the internet.

If you enjoy games like Persona, Ace Attorney or even Steins; Gate, Aegis Rim has a lot of themes dealing with all things sci-fi, and anime tropes.

I recommend playing it on the Switch since it's compact and Vanillaware included a patch exclusively to the machine. It adds gameplay balance and special new abilities to its 13 characters.

PC
MONSTER HUNTER RISE
Reviewed: Mar 7, 2022
8.50
VERIFIED

It's even better on the PC.

Monster Hunter Rise is a surprising new direction for the future of CAPCOM's best-selling franchise. Rise removes most of its dull features (Hot Drinks, Excessive Grinding, Travel) in favor of a more streamlined monster hunting experience. The amount of quality of life changes makes the experience less frustrating and doesn't disrupt its core gameplay loop: which is hunting monsters.

Rise even pushed movement even further with two additions: the Wirebug and the Palamute, your dog companion. Traversing around its treacherous locales is made even easier with these two important additions. You can even use them in combat, and it requires mastery.

New players will find this less intimidating compared to its big brother, Monster Hunter World/Iceborne.

This PC release doesn't only improve performance, pumping its frames to more than 30, it's also the definitive way to play this game in my opinion. The visual overhaul, the 4K support and a smooth-sailing online experience (without Nintendo Online) makes monster hunting a little less stressful. My only concern is that it didn't really add anything significant in terms of gameplay and content. It's JUST a PC port.

But nonetheless, I can't wait for their Sunbreak expansion.

Switch
Animal Crossing: New Horizons
Reviewed: Feb 14, 2022
9.50

Nintendo came at a perfect time to release this game. At the start of the COVID-19 Pandemic, everyone was scattered and forced to quarantine. Fortunately I owned a Switch and this helped me retain some of my sanity as the world slowly adjusts to this deadly virus.

The comforting characters and Tom Nook's capitalist empire kept me busy most of the time. It generated hours and hours of me scrambling to find that perfect fencing post, or pave that ideal road for my little villagers. It even forced me to learn about Interior Design!

iOS
GHOST TRICK: Phantom Detective
Reviewed: Feb 14, 2022
8.20

From my previous reviews, I mentioned how much I recently got into visual novels, notably Shu Takumi's Ace Attorney games. This interest got me to try his other work: Ghost Trick. A lot of Ace Attorney fans recommend this title as it shares the same gripping narrative that the series has, as well as its memorable cast of characters.

All of that was true. Well, according to my experience. Each episode has its own set of surprises, and the gimmick of manipulating objects around you and rewinding someone's death makes it better. In a span of 24 hours in-game, it slowly opens up into an emotional story that hinges on themes of death and life. Too cheesy, yeah, but that's Shu Takumi for you.

Switch
The Great Ace Attorney Chronicles
Reviewed: Jan 29, 2022
10.00

As stated in my Ace Attorney Trilogy review, I was never into the Visual Novel genre. Shu Takumi's Ace Attorney games changed that for me. It was honestly the most emotionally charged experience I've ever had. Not to exaggerate but everything about this duology is all condensed into one tightly packed story about Phoenix Wright's ancestor, Naruhodo-san.

The change in setting from Japanifornia (or wherever the original series was set) to London is a much needed addition, as it provides room for more realism in its history.

The courtroom dramas are improved to cater more than one person being questioned. The characters are memorable and their motives are sound, even the eccentric Herlock Sholmes. I'm giving this game a perfect score because it elevated the AA series to new levels, and I believed in Shu Takumi's talent.

Switch
Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Trilogy
Reviewed: Jan 29, 2022
9.50

I've never found Visual Novels to be my kind of genre, but the Ace Attorney series proved me wrong. The courtroom dramas and the stellar cast of lovable characters has made this series into one of my favorites. The entire trilogy is an experience that could never be replicated once you're done with all three titles.

It's best played on a comfy weekend, all alone with your Switch. I took my time with each episode and had to digest what was happening with all the crazy moments happening around Phoenix's lawyer life. It was the most fun I had in a long time, and I considered playing all the succeeding Ace Attorney games after. Let's hope Shu Takumi continues the series!

PC
Celeste
Reviewed: Jan 28, 2022
9.00

I've always admired how Celeste managed to make their game work when it's all about just one move: Jumping. The jumping variations we have to do in order to climb the dangerous Celeste Mountain is impressive. We can jump, but we can latch on to walls and do a double jump. As simple as their controls are, the game is unforgiving when it comes to its platforming levels.

Yes, Celeste is difficult and pretty sure everyone who's interested in playing this game knows that. It takes more than a few deaths to prepare you to the many challenges the Mountain has to offer. Don't worry, the soundtrack helps with the stress, thanks to renowned videogame composer Lena Raine. The controls are responsive and getting that elusive strawberry is satisfying. Don't even get me started on its B-Sides and C-Sides.

PS4
SEKIRO: Shadows Die Twice
Reviewed: Jan 28, 2022
9.50

FromSoftware's latest since their famed Dark Souls and Bloodborne titles. Sekiro is a breath of fresh air from the standard hit and dodge mechanics of their previous games. It encourages careful timing when it comes to parrying enemy attacks and maximizing movement and stealth, which is unlike any FromSoft game.

The atmospheric supernatural backdrop in the midst of a Feudal War is also something I've grown interested with. FromSoft knows how to keep evolving its world and I can't wait to experience Elden Ring soon.

PC
Valorant
Reviewed: Jan 28, 2022
8.60

Riot's been trying their best to take the crown from Blizzard, and with their recent acquisition from Microsoft, it looks like they won.

Valorant's five versus five gunfights are the strongest I've seen in a competitive FPS yet. No match is ever the same if you account its cast of colorful agents (and bad players). Overwatch was a fantastic game, but it was hampered by Blizzard's constant change in formula. Riot became consistent with its mechanics, and that's what I love about them.

There's still more room for improvement with this budding competitive shooter and Riot is well-equipped to handle the many changes it has to encounter in the future.


PS4
Death Stranding
Reviewed: Mar 6, 2020
9.50
Death Stranding is no doubt an anomaly in the gaming industry. It sent reputable game reviewers at a divide on their criticisms and praises. It's 2019's most polarizing game and Hideo Kojima is pretty chill with that. Personally, I think Death Stranding is a religious experience. It's a one of a kind journey with Kojima's unfiltered writing. Every second I spent on this game was worth it, from walking past treacherous terrain to carrying a truckload of packages I need to deliver to the Elder. It's a therapeutic adventure disguised as a videogame.
PC
Alien: Isolation
Reviewed: Jun 6, 2019
9.50
VERIFIED
An underrated survival-horror game. After a series of disappointing Alien titles, SEGA's one of a kind entry devours them all like pests. Alien: Isolation is the best Alien game, period. It's set after the events of the original Alien movie and stars the daughter of Ellen Ripley, Amanda. This horrifying title places you at a severe disadvantage as you run away from the deadly perfect organism. It's impressive Alien AI is not a joke. Make every move count and try as much as possible to escape from this nightmare, because in space, no one can hear you scream.
PC
Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege
Reviewed: Mar 6, 2020
9.30
VERIFIED
Siege was an unexpected contender in the FPS competitive scene given its rocky start. It's a combination of high-stakes shooting action with tactical depth. Every encounter with players online feels like a different firefight, depending on each of Siege's unique Operators. These 50 or so Operators will shift the tide of every round. Not only do they have various abilities, they have their own skill ceilings and floors to master. I've already racked up over 200 hours playing this game, solo or with friends. It's definitely Ubisoft's outstanding achievement in recent times. It also goes without saying that they are transparent to the community and actively listening to player feedback. It's an impressive tactical shooter that deserves more praise. I hope they will continue to support the game in the years to come.
PS4
Assassin's Creed Origins
Reviewed: Mar 6, 2020
8.50
It took them a full year to reflect on their shortcomings with the franchise. Assassin's Creed Origins is a welcome entry to the long-running stealth series from Ubisoft. It successfully managed to evoke a sense of wonder and excitement for new and old fans of the series, especially with the game's main character, Bayek, and its fully explorable map of Ancient Egypt. The open world element doesn't feel forced unlike Odyssey's huge but empty Greek landscapes. Each region offers their own kind of biome, ranging from the dry desert dunes to the bustling city of Alexandria. Storywise, it doesn't offer much compared to the recent entries. However, Bayek's writing is a standout of the series. As for gameplay, it's where the game falters in some levels. The transformation to action-adventure to RPG is Origin's polarizing feature. The constant grinding might be a problem to players and its barrage of microtransactions in the Ubisoft Store is highly intimidating. Nonetheless, when the RPG combat works, it does kinda work. Finally, its emphasis on stealth has dwindled. This is a common pattern of the series after Assassin's Creed III. Players are no longer limited to stealth-based approaches. It all depends on how they want to engage in each fortified base or enemy. It also takes a lot of grinding. It's a fantastic game, and for me, it's league's better than Odyssey which provided nothing new to the table except for its improved Naval combat. I love Origins and I adore Bayek and Aya's adventures.
iOS
PewDiePie's Tuber Simulator
Reviewed: May 29, 2019
8.50
Idle clickers are one thing, but embracing Pewdiepie's personality into this fun simulation-game is another. With the help of Outerminds, this addicting simulator is purely dedicated to Pewdiepie's massive fanbase. Build your own Youtube Studio and watch it grow and develop into anything you want it to be. Whether you're a fan or not, there's still enough room for you to experiment and get creative with the numerous amount of content the game offers.
PC
Katana ZERO
Reviewed: May 22, 2019
9.00
Much like Hotline Miami, this is another fantastic entry from Devolver Digital. This neo-noir action-platformer takes joy in its aesthetically pleasing cyberpunk society and jamming synthwave soundtrack. Play as a futuristic Samurai Hitman on a quest to uncover his forgotten memories. By using the game's unique time-bending mechanic, players can slow down time and begin decapitating enemies with surgical precision. It's ultraviolence at its finest. This is another Indie title worth your time.