18 Games Rated and Reviewed

Switch
Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus
Reviewed: Jan 11, 2022
7.50

I'm not going to sully this review by comparing it to the other console ports (which is an apples to oranges comparison). I have a Switch Lite, so I also don't have to be concerned about whatever it looks like on a 1080p or greater display. I'm rating it a 7.5 because Wolfenstein II obviously cannot hold up against to the masterful Switch port of Doom Eternal, but taken as it is, it demonstrates the Switch's surprising ability to do FPS well and Panic Button's continued demonstrated ability to crank out quality ports. I'm impressed at what graphical and audio fidelity they were able to eke out despite the Switch hardware limitations. It does a great job compared to the glitchy [though loveable] mess of the Crysis Remastered Trilogy.

Gameplay wise, nothing has suffered and we still have the excellent gunplay we all know and love. My only complaint thus far is that the game will freeze and crash sometimes when reading collectibles.

Switch
Bulletstorm: Duke of Switch Edition
Reviewed: Jan 11, 2022
6.00

Only bought it because it was on sale and it has Duke Nukem in it.

Fora game called "Bulletstom", ammo is a very rare find. I found myself beating enemies up most of the time due to scarce ammo and the system where you have to buy it is stupid; this isn't that type of game. The controls are terrible and completely backwards and hard to reach with almost no customization options

The story is forgettable and not even The Duke is enough to save this melee-a-thon. Pass on this one.

Stadia
DOOM Eternal
Reviewed: Aug 16, 2021
10.00

As someone who has this on Xbox One S, this game comparatively doesn't run as well on the Switch. Though in the sense of the Switch even being able to run it, it's fantastic, in a way - impressive that they were able to get this game running in it's entirety on Switch; faithfully and with all of its content. I'm very impressed at how well it runs on this lower-spec hardware. I've probably been spoiled by playing this off of a more powerful console (and off of a slower, bargain 5200 RPM external HDD at that), but the experience is noticably degraded; which is understandable as the Switch is obviously somewhat of a lightweight for AAA third party games. However, as you run through the game, you realize that you get very used to the lower-spec experience; with the game only really stuttering somewhat when there are lots of demons in the area and lots of gunfire, explosions, flames, missiles and bolts of plasma flying around.

If you've only ever played this on Switch, or only have a Switch and are looking forward to playing it, I'm sure it'll a delight for you.


Side note: I encountered a glaring fault when trying to play for the first time, the game would not let me log into my existing Bethesda.net account at all (I'm logged into a bunch of other Bethesda titles, maybe I reached a limit? I don't know?). After an hour and a half of Googling and Binging and checking Bethesda's website, I saw no other option but to have to create an entirely new Bethesda.net account to simply log in and play. Stupidly inconvenient and it appears that once logged in to DE, on Switch, you can't log out and back into your other account.

Switch
Crysis 2 Remastered
Reviewed: Oct 19, 2021
7.50

I've always enjoyed Crysis 2. I've always equated it to close to a modern military sorry shooter as far as engagements with human targets and their tactics goes. I love getting into gunfights with CELL operators, it's intense and gives you a good gunfight feel. The game is more cinematic, though it still has that annoying first person cutscene thing going (something I discussed further in my Crysis 3 review). The story is easier to follow, it has (in my opinion) the best music in the franchise, yet it remains that bastard child of the series.

This is more of a port for me rather than a remaster since the Switch hardware is (in my opinion) an odd combination of gen 7 and gen 8 hardware, so I came in not expecting the Xbox One X experience. The experience itself is like playing it on Xbox One S vs. Xbox 360; it's "cleaned up". The frame rate is mostly locked at 30 FPS, but there is some noticeable frame stutter when things get hot and you're behind cover. While I can't attest too well the visual differences between the Switch version and my old Xbox 360 version, everything appears to be preserved perfectly and it looks great on the Switch. 

Great attention to detail compared to my Xbox 360 original: I was cloaked and behind cover once and when I stood up to line up on a guy, his laser sight was fixed right on my head and I could see the little laser. When reloading the Mk 60 machine gun, there is greater attention to detail inside the innards of the weapon; they took their time with this.

It can get glitchy; CELL mercs ragdoll like crazy and through objects when shot and killed, Ceph walk through cars and broken sidewalks, there are sound glitches in which the sound effects occasionally turn off. The "sparkles" for Nanocatalyst doesn't appear, so you have to walk over where you *think* you killed a Ceph to pick it up in order to mod your suit, Ceph AI seems more averse and the tend to retreat more often. Play for too long when the sound cuts out, and the game crashes.

There could have been reworked AI to focus more on intense squad based tactics; they could stand to bring in heavier reinforcements to your location; this could have been done with the humans and the Ceph. They could have added more Marines to fight alongside with more aggressive and more tactical AI.

Technical shortcomings aside, I'm playing Crysis on a portable for $50 (I bought the trilogy) and I think that's a fair asking price for such a timeless trilogy. I've played this game beginning to end at least four times on Xbox 360, Xbox One, and now I'm enjoying it on my Switch.

Switch
Crysis 3 Remastered
Reviewed: Nov 16, 2021
7.50

Has the same bug in it that Crysis 2 where the audio cuts out and after a while playing like that, the game crashes. There is also a glitch where when the binoculars are equipped holding a Ceph weapon, the weapon disappears and you have to "select" it again or pick it up. Speaking of pickups, some swapped weapons disappear into the ether. I have also noticed a glitch in places and at times where the face buttons, the entire right side of the controller, can be rendered unusable.

Overall, it's a faithful new rendition of a classic epic series that deserves it's role in the Switch library. I was just hoping (with the trilogy as a whole), the devs would have gone the Halo 2 remaster route and had overhauled some graphical highlights from the game. For instance, the cutscene where Prophet is jumping from building to building and eventually landing superhero style on an abandoned apartment building complaining why CELL won't "stay out of his damn way" could have been remastered when it showed Prophet utilizing the Nanosuit's extreme agility, parkouring these buildings and finalizing in a cool superhero external shot of him landing. Bigger squads of enemies with more options to attack or subvert them, revamped human AI so that CELL Mercs fight more like the impressive North Koreans from the first installment that used advanced squad tactics. Touches such as these would have added great cinematic and gameplay value to a franchise trying to [hopefully] breathe new life into it. 

You're playing a tried and true forever classic masterpiece of video game and FPS history in this trilogy on fairly old Switch hardware in [almost] it's entirety (missing VTOL mission from Crisis 1 remastered, I'm talking about). Despite it's shortcomings, appreciate it. 

Switch
Mortal Kombat 11
Reviewed: Oct 16, 2021
4.00

I have the Switch Lite, so I can't attest to how it looks on a big screen, but I'm surprised it runs like it does on Switch. 

It's definitely a noticable visual downgrade and the frame rate dips and drops a lot. It definitely does its best to maintain that 60 FPS.

Overlooking the hardware limitations, the story is forgettable with bad voice acting and is typical Mortal Kombat fare.

Controls are good, but difficult to pull off on the Switch Lite's tiny d-pad and buttons. Though you can basically combo mash the opponents into submission.

One of my biggest complaints comes from the way they decide to tell the tale; no QTEs to keep you on your toes during the LONG cutscenes.

Fairly decent fighter that rewards the skilled though with some noticeable graphic hiccups. 

The reason for the average rating is because I've seen much better ports on Switch (think Doom Eternal) and I know a better job could have been done.

Switch
DOOM Eternal
Reviewed: Aug 16, 2021
9.00

As someone who has this on Xbox One S, this game comparatively runs horrible on the Switch. Though in the sense of the Switch even being able to run it, it's fantastic, in a way - impressive that they were able to get this game running in it's entirety on Switch. I've probably been spoiled by playing this off of a more powerful console (and off of a slower, bargain 5200 RPM external HDD at that), but the experience is noticably different in frame rate, though as a lifelong console gamer, I can appreciate the effort that went into the mostly steady 30 FPS; which is understandable as the Switch is obviously somewhat of a lightweight for AAA third party games. If you've only ever played this on Switch, or only have a Switch and are looking forward to playing it, I'm sure it'll a delight for you. 9 for the incredible effort made for this port.

Side note: I encountered a glaring fault when trying to play for the first time, the game would not let me log into my existing Bethesda.net account at all (I'm logged into a bunch of other Bethesda titles, maybe I reached a limit? I don't know?). After an hour and a half of Googling and Binging and checking Bethesda's website, I saw no other option but to have to create an entirely new Bethesda.net account to simply log in and play. Stupidly inconvenient and it appears that once logged in to DE on Switch, you can't log out and back into your other account.

Switch
RICO
Reviewed: Sep 24, 2021
6.00

Good gunplay and I really like the procedurally generated areas with differing objectives, which ensure never the same area twice. A huge turnoff for me is that there is much more ammo lying around than health and it's quite easy to be gunned down playing solo; not helped at all but the games's "save" system - which doesn't seem to be present. I completed a case and moved on to the next one, only to be gunned down and having to start completely over every single time. There needs to be a checkpoint system and a way to save in between cases. The graphics are so-so, but they honestly don't need that much spit and polish for this style of game, so I had tempered expectations going in. A drawback to the graphics is that it is difficult or nigh impossible to see an enemy clear across a well-lit room.

Overall, fun game with very frustrating difficulty curve.

Switch
Call of Juarez: Gunslinger
Reviewed: Sep 23, 2021
8.50

I was a little skeptical of this game as the "Call of..." and clear coattailing of Red Dead Redemption came to mind as a FPS that tried to make itself Call of Duty in a Western setting.

Boy, was I pleasantly surprised! The controls are bang on and the gunplay mechanics suit the game very well. Not sure why there's a secret system, as to me, it distracts from the gunplay and narrative, but oh well.

The perk system, unlike some other games yields rewards that are instantly noticable and makes the game more fun and rewarding to play.

I'm not a fan of Western anything (except for Clint Eastwood's Unforgiven and the OG Xbox game, Gun) and this game just keeps piling on thrill after thrill.

The boss fights are intimidating, but not maddeningly frustrating and the mechanics of the dueling system are well executed.

Our tall-tale telling protagonist is very well written and excellently portrayed by the actor. The overall narrative is actually well written and great effort was put into telling a fictitious tale of the old west with real historical figures. The way the gameplay ties in with the story is again, well executed and the generous humor painted through the campaign will give you some chuckles.

I plan on buying the rest of the series for my Xbox 360. This game is definitely a keeper with good replay value.

XB1
MechWarrior 5: Mercenaries
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2021
6.00

Controls are somewhat intuitive; making you feel as if you are in control of a BattleMech. It somewhat reminds me of the old GunGriffon games where you control the legs and overall movement with one set of buttons and swivel the torso of the machine by holding down the left trigger and moving the d-pad around. The controls take a while to grow on you and feel clumsy at first, but you eventually get the hang of it. I still would rather prefer there were an alternate, simpler control option ala Titanfall or Hawken style controls for your Mech. The controls can kind of get in the way and slow down the pacing of the game and combat.

Another complaint that I have is the menu system in between missions. You have to negotiate contracts, buy, sell, install, and repair parts to your Mech. While I appreciate that this adds a degree of "realism" to the game, again, like the controls, they distract from gameplay and combat.

This game was very obviously tailored for PC play and was not localized for console playing. This isn't a very good port.

The graphics look decidedly 7th gen, and I hope to see a Nintendo Switch port of this game with streamlined controls, seeing as how the Switch is a hardware middleweight.

The dialogue and story are forgettable. 

Overall, okay-ish play with some unnecessary things added in for the console experience. Clumsy controls that you may or may not get used to with dated graphics, average sound, and totally lackluster storyline.

Switch
Immortal Redneck
Reviewed: Sep 14, 2021
6.00

As much as I enjoy the over the top, Duke-esque humor, this game fell a little short of my expectations as described in the eShop. Repetitive map design, cheap enemies, lots of deaths, and very blurry Nintendo 64-esque motion blur and textures almost ruin the experience. There is no option to invert the gyro controls which sucks (if you tilt your Switch to the right, you should aim right, or at least that's my thinking). Weapon selection is scant, and ammo is hard to come by and the weapons seem a little nerfed - especially the double barreled shotgun, which could use a little more ass and better pellet spread. Item drops disappear too quickly and this game desperately needs a save anywhere, anytime feature, or at least a checkpoint system to keep you from needlessly looping around and to spare you the cheap deaths.

The humor is foul, the way I like it and I enjoy the foul-mouthed Redneck protagonist, he kind of reminds me of Duke Nukem, which is a game I passed over to buy this. The enemies are to say the least, bizarre and eclectic. They're deadly accurate and extremely aggressive so this game is a bit on the steep side of the difficulty curve. This game has quickly lost its appeal to me and I have relegated it to a toilet game.

Switch
The Outer Worlds
Reviewed: Aug 12, 2021
6.00

Wow. Reading the reviews of people that have played it on other platforms, I'm glad I bought it when it was on sale on the eShop. The action-RPG and humor elements make for an eerie cross between Fallout and Borderlands. I haven't played it on any other platform, but I can definitely resonate with the opinions of others who have played the other ports; this game runs sluggishly. I love FPSs, but this game's plodding (in my opinion) style doesn't suit me. I've already put it on my back burner.

Switch
Quake
Reviewed: Aug 26, 2021
10.00

My first time experiencing Quake was on my Sega Saturn, which was a fantastic attempt at the port, seeing how it didn't even run on the original engine, but instead running on the game engine of Power Slave. I also played the N64 port extensively, but never got to play the PC original.

If this is how the original Quake looked, played, and felt, then you're in for a treat! It runs at a rock solid 60 FPS all the time and the running and gunning and that sweet, sweet, satisfying sound of the double barreled shotgun turning enemies into gibs is very pleasing to the ear, sight, and overall, the imagination. If this is what I've been missing out on for 25 years, it's like opening a gift twice! The "hidden" addition of Quake 64 sweetened the deal and it would have been great if they at some point include Saturn Quake (mentioned in Quake 64's description in the game) so I can revisit my teenage love of that port.

My only complaint is that I had to go into system settings and create a "Southpaw" controller profile to swap the thumbsticks; the game doesn't offer that natively, but now that I have that preset, I can thoroughly enjoy this excellent remaster of Quake and other games with my preferred controller layout.

Otherwise, great port of an excellent classic. Enjoy! 

Switch
Doom 3
Reviewed: Aug 17, 2021
9.00

Perfect port of a classic AAA game. My first time experiencing Doom 3 was on the original Xbox, so I had somewhat of the "castrated" experience. Glad to see it back and running perfectly on Switch! My gripes are that when in Hell, the toggle for ruining is oddly disabled; something not present in the other levels and makes the Guardian of Hell boss a pain to beat, because you're going to need that running to be toggled on all the time; having to continuously have the thumbstick mashed down to run while moving, aiming, firing, and reloading is a little unnecessary and I'm puzzled why they turned that feature off in the Hell levels. Also, I do not like the auto save system; it'll save when you're in a bad spot health, armor, and ammo wise and you end up with several unnecessary save slots. I'll take the save anytime, anywhere system any day. Lastly, I don't like how there's no weapon wheel. Something they did for Quake Remastered and you'd think it would be a staple nowadays - especially with the pacing of the game and having to cycle through weapons in the heat of CQC in the games's already confined spaces is inconvenient and can lead to deaths. In the original Xbox port, you could bind any weapon of choice to the d-pad, conspicuously absent here.

Regardless, enjoy!

Switch
Team Troopers
Reviewed: Sep 1, 2021
4.00

A somewhat decent attempt at a back to basics, bare-bones bang bang shoot em up that runs at 60FPS. Too bad there's nobody to play against. The weapon selection is pretty scant, too. Glad I bought it when it was on sale in the eShop. 

Switch
DOOM (1993)
Reviewed: Aug 22, 2021
10.00

Perfect port. This is actually my first time playing original Doom in it's entirety, as it's meant to. My first time experiencing Doom was on Sega 32X, so again, I had the "castrated" experience. Messed around with the Jaguar port a little, but nothing I had to create a system-kennel preset to swap the thumbsticks so I can play more comfortably, not even a minor annoyance. Enjoy!

Switch
DOOM 64
Reviewed: Aug 18, 2021
10.00

I only got to play this for a couple of hours at a friend's house when this came out on N64 as a teenager and although I owned an N64, it never crossed my mind to buy it.

So glad this was re-released on Switch. It plays so incredibly well. The controls are perfect and there's an option for right thumbstick movement; which is a deal breaker for me if it's not featured - thank you to the devs for taking us that love the "Southpaw" controller configuration into account.

The action is incredibly intense and served as a diving board for me to install Brutal Doom 64 on my laptop, phone, tablet, and Nvidia Shield TV. A month after beating the game, I still revisit this classic masterpiece to rip and tear.

Though I did not experience how the save feature worked on the original N64 iteration; the ability to save at any point in time, anywhere is excellent, as if you play on "Bring It On!" or higher difficulty, you'll definitely be leveraging it a lot; there'll be a lot of deaths!

My only complaint is of course what harks back to the N64 original: somewhat confusing map design. Pull a lever/push a button somewhere, and something on a distant part of the map becomes accessible, which can lead to a lot of repeated backtracking and confusion.

Switch
Aery - Calm Mind
Reviewed: Jul 31, 2021
4.10

Fun and relaxing so long as you don't play some of the more expansive levels, in which the game becomes virtually unplayable with the frame rate dropping to seemingly single digit/teen levels. The hit boxes for the orbs could be slightly larger, as it is very easy to fly right over them. Some of the orbs are located in the ground, forcing you to nose dive into the terrain to collect them. In some levels, the orbs are almost completely washed out by the background colors, making them very difficult to navigate to.